Puzzler is FUNCTIONAL!

Yes. That’s right.

The puzzle-solving program that I’ve been working on now works. And it works nicely, if I do say so myself.

Rather than bog you down with a wall of text, let me walk you through a use of the Puzzler (which is what I’m calling it).

Complete with screenshots!

Stage 1 – Puzzler prompts you to load an image of a puzzle (ideally, your puzzle is square with evenly-sized pieces)

Stage 2 – Puzzler splits your puzzle apart into pieces

Stage 3 – You use a spiffy GUI to select colors for the edges. Every different type of edge gets a different colors, and edges that can go together get different shades of the same color.

Stage 4 – The final unsolved puzzle. If you didn’t understand what I meant in Step 3, hopefully this clears things up.

Stage 5 – You press SPACE (well, I do. You’ll probably get a button to do that, you lucky end user you). Puzzler solves your puzzle in few seconds or so.

Stage 6 – Celebrate! Your puzzle is solved, probably in less time than it would have taken you to get your pieces out of the box.

No demo yet, though.

Why? I’m picky. It’s functional, and it works pretty nicely – but I don’t believe it is done. There’s a lot of code that I need to clean up before I can release a version for public testing/debugging.

(Plus, I need a better GUI for loading and solving the puzzle)

Until next time!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment